How do user roles and permissions work?

There are three user roles with differing permission levels for users of a Givebutter account: Admin, Editor, and Team Member.

Admin - full access to the Account.

  • Account Settings - Full access

  • Campaigns - Full access

  • Contacts - Full access

  • Transactions - Full access

  • Recurring Plans - Full access

  • Tickets - Full access

  • Payouts - Full access

  • Integrations - Full access

  • Add Offline Donations: Yes

  • Chapters - Full access

Editor - this role gives editing access to Account and Campaign details but limited or no access to payouts, users, account billing, and integration information.

  • Account Settings - Limited (no access to Users)

  • Campaigns - Full access

  • Contacts - Full access

  • Transactions - Full access

    • Recurring Plans - No access

  • Tickets - Full access

    • Payouts - No access

    • Integrations - No access

  • Add Offline Donations: Yes

  • Chapters - Full access

Team Member - individual fundraisers for an organization and do not have access to the Givebutter Dashboard.

If invited, they have access to edit their individual fundraiser page.

  • My Profile/Photo

  • Goal

  • Story

Givebutter makes it easy for Team Members to get credit for donations by generating a custom link for each member after joining a campaign. Any donations made on a Team Member's Trackable Link will automatically get tracked back to them.


Some important notes about setting roles & permissions:

  • Only Admins can set user roles.

  • Invite Users to your account via email in the Account Settings, Users tab. Enter their email address, click the drop-down arrow, and select Editor/Admin. Click Send invite.

  • You can change someone's role by selecting them in the Account Settings, Users tab, clicking the drop-down arrow, and selecting "Editor/Admin” or the Trash button to delete them. 


What's Next?

Did this answer your question?