What does it mean to close a Campaign?

Hey Changemaker! 👋 Before we get started if you are closing your Campaign because you had a bad experience and/or will be using another platform, please reach out to us first! We would love to learn more about your fundraising efforts and how we can help or improve.

👉 FYI: This article is about closing your Campaign so that people can no longer make payments. If your Campaign is over and you still want to accept payments after the fact, you can withdraw your funds without closing your Campaign. Additionally, closing a Campaign does not close your Account.

When you close your Campaign on Givebutter, you are stopping supporters from making further payments to your Campaign. If you haven't received payments at all, or done any test transactions, and you're looking to permanently close the Campaign, you can also delete the Campaign entirely.

How to close a Campaign that has received payments

Stop accepting payments

This option disables the payment button on your Campaign. Fundraising Pages and Events will remain visible, but the payment button will be disabled. 👇

Screenshot showing a donation form that just says

With Auctions, the information will be visible but a banner will display, and the items will have an "Ended" banner.

Donation Forms will no longer be accessible.


Payments are turned off in the Campaign Manager of your Dashboard,

  • First, navigate to your Givebutter Dashboard.

  • Select your Campaign from the recent Campaign list on the left panel, under RAISE.

    • If you don't see it there, you can click ALL CAMPAIGNS to get the full list.

Screenshot of the list under the Raise tab in the Dashboard, which includes an ALL CAMPAIGNS button and a list of the 3 most Recent Campaigns
  • Click on the TOOLS tab and then navigate to the first section, Payment Settings.

  • Toggle "OFF" the toggle beside Accepting Payments.

  • Click SAVE!

Screenshot showing the toggle in the tools section to turn off accepting payments

Set an End Date

If you're looking to close your Campaign at a specific point in the future, you can set up an End Date. Once the End Date passes, this setting automatically stops your Campaign from Accepting Payments.

For Fundraising Pages and Donation Forms, you can set an End Date by selecting your Campaign in the Dashboard and clicking the SETTINGS tab in the Campaign Manager. Scroll down to "Design" and set the End Date.

Screenshot showing the settings tab section where you can add an end date

For Events, you can set two different End Dates. You can set an End Date for the Event itself, and you can set an End Date for the Campaign entirely. Use the same steps above to set an End Date for the entire Campaign and stop accepting payment. Additionally, if you want to still accept payments but show the Event start and end times, you can configure your Event settings to do so.

If you're just looking to stop Ticket sales, you can manage your Tickets separately and continue to accept donations for your Event.

⛔️ Warning: The Campaign End Date overrides the Event End Date. If your Campaign End Date arrives before your Event End Date, your payment acceptance will stop completely - even if the Event End Date has not passed. Please make sure you set a Campaign End Date for when you want to stop payments completely.

Pro tip: If you're only looking to end optional donations, but continue Ticket sales, you can disable option donations by contacting our Support Team.

For Auctions, you can set an End Date for the entire Campaign or just the Auction! You can follow the steps above to set an End Date for the entire Campaign. If you want to set an End Date just for your Auction items, select your Campaign in the Dashboard and click the AUCTIONS tab in the Campaign Manager. Click the AUCTION SETTINGS subtab, and set an End Date under "Date & Time".

Screenshot showing the Auction Settings tab with the end date highlighted

Make your Campaign Unlisted

If you'd like to hide your campaign from public view and keep accepting donations, you can unlist your campaign so only the people who have the link can access it.

Unlisting is done in the Campaign Manager of your Dashboard,

  • First, navigate to your Givebutter Dashboard.

  • Select your Campaign from the recent Campaign list on the left panel, under RAISE.

    • If you don't see it there, you can click ALL CAMPAIGNS to get the full list.

Screenshot of the list under the Raise tab in the Dashboard, which includes an ALL CAMPAIGNS button and a list of the 3 most Recent Campaigns
  • Click on the SETTINGS tab and then navigate to the bottom, beside the "Other" section.

  • Toggle "ON" the toggle beside "Make this campaign unlisted".

  • Click SAVE!

A screenshot showing the toggle beside make this campaign unlisted

⛔️ Warning: If you have previously shared the link to this campaign, the people who had access to this link can still access it using the same link. If you want to add an extra layer of privacy, consider changing the URL of the campaign and/or removing any public posts where you shared the URL previously. Additionally, unlisting your campaign will not end your ability to accept payments or otherwise end your campaign.

How to close a Campaign that has not processed any transactions

Delete Campaign

Whether you accidentally duplicated a campaign, or you just need a fresh start, you can completely remove your Campaign from the web and your dashboard by deleting it. You can only delete a campaign that has not received any transactions, including Offline Donations.


Deletion is done in the Campaign Manager of your Dashboard,

  • First, navigate to your Givebutter Dashboard.

  • Select your Campaign from the recent Campaign list on the left panel, under RAISE.

    • If you don't see it there, you can click ALL CAMPAIGNS to get the full list.

Screenshot of the list under the Raise tab in the Dashboard, which includes an ALL CAMPAIGNS button and a list of the 3 most Recent Campaigns
  • Click on the SETTINGS tab and then navigate to the bottom, beside the "Other" section.

  • Click the red button that says DELETE CAMPAIGN

Screenshot showing the red delete campaign button

⛔️ Warning: This cannot be undone. Please be cautious when deleting a Campaign.


Related Content

Did this answer your question?